Introduction to the Head Center

Scott introduces the Head center, which orients around thinking, and the Enneagram types (5, 6, and 7) associated with it.




Type 5

Scott chooses the wise, observant owl to represent Type 5 on the Enneagram, often called the thinker or the observer. Type 5 loves to be behind closed doors, left alone to learn and reflect; but, beneath the surface, what drives the need to be apart is an anxious mind that must figure out a problem, situation, or relationship in order to feel secure. If Type 5 can emerge from isolation through the Downward Ascent, then they can bring a thoughtfulness and deep way of knowing into the world that is much needed.

Type 5 Overview




Type 6

Scott views a pack of wolves as a fitting representation of Type 6 on the Enneagram, for this type displays both a strong pack identity as well as a tendency to be a lone wolf. Type 6 is often called the loyalist, trouper, or doubter. Beneath the surface of Type 6 is a strong current of fear and anxiety which, when addressed through the Downward Ascent, can put Type 6 into a sense of trust and peace that enables them to move through the world more freely and effectively.

Type 6 Overview




Type 7

To Scott, playful dolphins befittingly depict Type 7 on the Enneagram, which is often  deemed the enthusiast or epicure. They are often adventure-loving and “the life of the party,” with an active, creative imagination. Below the surface, however, their activity is often driven by the anxiety that stopping would bring to the surface the pain, struggle, or limitation they are avoiding. Their journey through the Downward Ascent can lead them to focus, simplify, and embrace living in the now with gratitude, thus amplifying their capacity for joy.

Type 7 Overview