Nine Gates: Thresholds of a Spiritual Journey

January 9 to April 7, 2017

Bob Schmitt


Abandonment by Bob Schmitt

As the new year begins, consider entering a visio divina practice with The Nine Gates of spiritual passage that resonate most with artist Bob Schmitt’s experience:  longing, abandonment, rage, emptiness, compassion, unbridled joy, oneness and delusion. Sound familiar? Let this beautiful blend of calligraphy and digital technology invite you into interior landscapes.

To create the Nine Gates scrolls, Bob Schmitt chose spiritual gates or thresholds that resonated  most with his own experience: longing, abandonment, rage, emptiness, compassion, unbridled joy, oneness and delusion. In this blend of ancient materials and forms, Bob transforms the aesthetic of the traditional Chinese scrolls into digital internal landscapes.

This exhibit is a part of Wisdom Ways permanent collection gifted to Wisdom Ways by Sue Cochrane.  

 

 


  Artist:  

Bob Schmitt is a Quaker and a student and teacher of Chinese calligraphy and painting. For over 50 years, he used ink and brush in the manner of Asian sumi-e (black ink) painters, primarily as a self-taught artist. Since meeting Chinese masters Lok Tok and Yitong Lok and his current teacher, Hong Zhang, he has more deeply explored Chinese calligraphy and painting, which he teaches in weekly classes. He lives and paints in Minneapolis, Minnesota, at Laughing Waters Studio--a stone's throw from Minnehaha Falls.


Art exhibits can be viewed on the ground level of Cardondelet Center, Monday-Friday and weekends. 

Building Hours March 28 - April 7
Building opens at 8:30 am unless otherwise noted below.

Tuesday, March 28: Close at 8:30 pm

Wednesday, March 29: Close at 4:30 pm

Thursday, March 30 Close at 6:30 pm

Friday, March 31: Close at 9:30 pm

Saturday, April 1: Building Closed

Sunday, April 2: 9:30 am -  12:00 pm

Monday, April 3: Close at 8:30 pm

Tuesday, April 4: Close at 7:45 pm

Wednesday, April 5: Close at 8:00 pm

Thursday, April 6: Close at 9:00 pm

Friday, April 7: Close at 9:30 pm