When:
January 2, 2018 – March 31, 2018 all-day
2018-01-02T00:00:00-06:00
2018-04-01T00:00:00-05:00
Where:
Carondelet Center
1890 Randolph Ave
St Paul, MN 55105
USA
Cost:
Free
Contact:
651-696-2788
Art

 

Zen art expresses the inexpressible as it helps to transform the way we see ourselves in the world. It is both the ultimate statement and the beginning of the journey all at once.

the ensō

The form of the circle is iconic to the formation of many languages, be it as a symbol for the moon, the sun, the wheel of reality. Known as the ensō in Japan, it is the most common subject of zen calligraphy. Its essence can be difficult to grasp.

Is it just a circle painted in one stroke, or is it the totality of our existence? Is it creating an enclosure in the chaos or is it defining nothingness?

In its creation, the ensō challenges the painter/practitioner to be present, to be open, to be flexible, and to be honest.

It requires the painter to both put themselves totally in the stroke and to totally get out of the way in its expression at the same moment.

Painting the ensō is a koan in motion.

Pick up the brush and be ready to leap into this moment.

— Bob Schmitt, June 2017

 

Bob Schmitt will be present for an Art Opening related to this exhibit on Thursday, February 1 from 6:30 – 8:00 pm.
Learn more and RSVP.

 

Artist:

 

Bob Schmitt is a Quaker and a student and teacher of Chinese calligraphy and painting who lives and paints a stone’s throw from Minnehaha Falls. Learn more at www.laughingwatersstudio.com.


 

 

Art exhibits can be viewed on the ground level of Cardondelet Center, Monday-Friday and weekends. Please click the above exhibit links to find out showing times and other information for each of the exhibits.

Building Hours January 16 – January 28
Building opens at 8:30 am unless otherwise noted below.

Tuesday, January 16: Close at 8:00 pm

Wednesday, January 17: Close at 9:00 pm

Thursday, January 18: Close at 8:30 pm

Friday, January 19:  Close at 4:30 pm

Saturday, January 20: 7:00 am – 3:00 pm

Sunday, January 21: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

Monday, January 22: Close at 8:30 pm

Tuesday, January 23: Close at 8:00 pm

Wednesday, January 24: Close at 4:30 pm

Thursday, January 25: Close at 8:30 pm

Friday, January 26:  Close at 9:00 pm

Saturday, January 27: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm

Sunday, January 28: 10:00 am – 5:30 pm